The Rock ‘n’ Roll Freaks Hall – Inductee List


The Rock ‘n’ Roll Freaks Hall honors artists, groups and contributors who have not been recognized by the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Commercial success and/or critical acclaim are not factors in choosing candidates or inductees. Rather, we seek to spotlight those people who embody the true spirit of rock ‘n’ roll in their recordings, performances, and in the lives they’ve lived. In fact, we often strive to recognize those who are not likely to ever be invited to one of the establishment’s made for TV galas – the forgotten heroes, the renegades, and the free spirits who have left a unique imprint on the history of rock ‘n’ roll.


Hasil Adkins
Lester Bangs
Richard Berry
Big Star
Blue Cheer
Blue Oyster Cult
Johnny Burnette & the Rock ‘n’ Roll Trio
Captain Beefheart
Alex Chilton
The Chocolate Watchband
The Cramps
Dick Dale
The Damned
The Dictators
The Easybeats
Danny Fields
Flamin’ Groovies
The Fleshtones
Kim Fowley
The Bobby Fuller Four
Wynonie Harris
Screamin’ Jay Hawkins
Lenny Kaye
The Kingsmen
Miriam Linna & Billy Miller
The MC5
Joe Meek
The Modern Lovers
The Monks
Shadow Morton
Mott the Hoople
The Move
New York Dolls
John Peel
Dewey Phillips
The Pretty Things
? & the Mysterians
Paul Revere & the Raiders
Roxy Music
The Runaways
The Seeds
The Shangri-Las
Greg Shaw
Slim Harpo
The Sonics
The Standells
T. Rex
The 13th Floor Elevators
Rufus Thomas
Big Mama Thornton
Johnny Thunders & the Heartbreakers
The Troggs
The Turtles
The Wailers
Tom Wilson
Link Wray
The Zombies